Posted by: yoko | September 10, 2003

Words From Childhood 2

Since this got such favorable reviews, I’ve decided to make this a weekly feature until I run out of words. I’m finding there are a lot of them, though, if I think hard enough.

Today’s word: yoisho!

I’ve seen this translated as “heave-ho!” This is the exclamation used when playing tug-of-war, for instance–teams will shout this with great rhythm– yoi-sho! yoi-sho! But it’s also used when picking up something heavy, or picking yourself up from sitting, so it could also be translated as “oof!” or “oopsy-daisy!”

I remember this word from when I was really young, because it’s the word my mother would use to pick me up. Words in Japanese sometimes have a rhyming nonsense word tacked on (compare this to adding “schm-” to words, like “taxes, schmaxes”), so my mom would often say “yoisho dokkoisho!” to boost me up.

Responses

  1. Your mom sounds so cute. I love the parts of these word entries where you mention her and how she used the words.

  2. yeah, my mom is cute. y’all will have to meet her sometime.


Categories

