Posted by: yoko | November 5, 2003

Words From Childhood 9

Today’s word: binboyusuri

An interesting compound word. Binbo means “poor,” yusuri means “shaking.” The word is more than the sum of its parts, however, because it actually means “unconsciously tapping or shaking one’s foot.”

Sometimes, when I sit at a desk, my right leg will rapidly bounce up and down. I’ve learned to control this, but when I was a kid, it would drive my mom nuts. I somehow remember her saying that I would become poor if I continued to shake in this manner, and I imagined coins cascading away from my leg.

I haven’t been able to find the etymology of this word, so if any of you readers discover how this word came to be, I’d love to hear about it.

p.s. To Fair: 4 more years of Street.

Responses

  1. *laugh* I do that, too!


Categories

