Posted by: yoko | August 4, 2004

On the Path

If you listen very carefully, within the heavily accented English and banter, Maruyama-sensei has some profound words to say.

At the end of one class, he talked about the path of the learning process. He said that you could carry a student on your back down the path, but the student would become rather heavy to carry and s/he wouldn’t end up learning much. You could also guide the student, showing him where to go, which is less of a strain on your back, and soon the student learns to follow the way on his/her own.

In the end, Sensei said, the best thing we can do is to guide.

I have a strong back, but I can’t carry all that weight. Better to walk and point out things along the way.

Responses

  1. See the movie “Spring Summer Fall Winter… and Spring,” for further elaboration on this topic.

  2. cool. I missed seeing it in theaters here– I’ll have to see if I can rent it soon.


Categories

