Posted by: yoko | March 7, 2005

Little Bits of Things

Some odds and ends from the weekend.

A night and a day of taiko practice as we head towards performance dates. I now have one blister on each thumb from holding the drumsticks. I have to dance in one of the numbers, and I’m reminded of one of my mom’s stories of me when I was about six years old, taking ballet and tap at the Y. In one of the routines, I went left while the rest of the group went right. I hope not to repeat this kind of mistake at our taiko performances.

I saw Fear and Trembling— probably one of the more painful comedies I’ve seen in ages. Kind of like Office Space, but in French and Japanese, and not as funny.

Pinky hosted a very excellent, fondue-laden Scrabblefest. Edwina loved me. I liked watching the Scrabble game and making comments on the sidelines. It felt like years since I’ve seen everyone, so it was such a delight to be there.

More to come this week.

Responses

  1. I am very curious to see Stupeur et tremblement. I do not credit the French with cultural sensitivity, and when it comes to a sense of cultural superiority and arrogance, the French, God love ’em, come in pretty much at the top of my list. So I find that, even before seeing the film, I am already wary, considering the film’s subject matter as well as the fact that its writers and director are French.

  2. From the preview, I couldn’t tell that it was a comedy. Looked interesting, though. Do you recommend it?

  3. Oh, and I just now read Lila’s blog entry for today (plus her updated Submission Guidelines), and I’d like to commend you for being such a generous patron of the arts. I hope that this will inspire many people to wipe the cobwebs off their art supplies!

  4. Well, for what it’s worth, the movie is based on the memoirs of a Belgian woman. Belgium actually figures quite a bit in this movie, so it’s not just a passing reference.

    I’d be interested in your take of this movie, Nick and Prima (and anyone else reading this post)– my companion who saw the movie with me asked me whether all Japanese companies were run in this fashion, and having never worked in Japan, I had to say that I didn’t know. But there were other aspects of the culture shown in the movie that seemed to ring true for me. This movie, I think, is in direct contrast to something like Lost in Translation in that the protagonist takes a more active stance against the culture clash.

  5. I saw Stupeur et Tremblement when in Paris and for some reason, I did enjoy it, but not so much as a comedy, or even a commentary on Japanese corporate life. Perhaps it was the theme of being in a foreign place that resonated. I will say that, since working at the library, I am reminded of the film often as my responsibilities slip from ordering books to barcoding the reference collection to cleaning out the card catalogue to stamping “discard” on books and throwing them away. I am waiting for the day I would become Dame Pipi de la Bibliotheque.


Categories

