Posted by: yoko | April 25, 2005

Sock Update: Pair Completed

Self-Patterning Socks
At long last, I finished knitting my first pair of socks. I do like how the patterning appears as I was knitting it– I intend to try other self-patterning yarns for fun.

Challenges I had encountered when knitting these socks: I had knitted the first sock with 3 double-pointed needles as suggested in the pattern and had the laddering effect. Hoping to avoid this with the second sock, I used 4 dpns this time, and still got the laddering, but it ended up on the side, where it isn’t as noticeable in the above picture. However, you can see the laddering:(edited 11/1/2006)
ladder
I think that next time, I will learn how to knit socks on circular needles, because I really would like to avoid this problem.

I had taken Snail Spirals Sue’s advice in washing the first sock in order to tighten up the loose stitches in the ladder. Unfortunately, my kitchener stitch on the toes was not bound off strongly enough, and it unraveled when I pulled it out of the washing machine. I did a makeshift repair, and now have loose ends that are tickling my toes.

I like knitting socks, however, and I mean to make lots more in the future, because I can never have too many socks to wear.

What may not be evident is that my left ankle is severely swollen. Yes, once again, I have sprained my ankle during aikido class. It occurs to me that I am beginning to favor one side over the other in falling, and thus I go to lengths in falling on that one side, even though I should be falling on the other. In this instance, I tripped over myself and my body fell full weight onto my ankle. I am at home, wearing a brace, and needing crutches to get around. Crap. Talk about really needing to learn a lesson. It’s all about symmetry and balance.

Lipby has been great in helping me out this past weekend, and I am very grateful that he is around.

So, I’m taking advantage of this opportunity to read! and do more knitting! Maybe I’ll buy some of that ribbon yarn to start that tank….

Responses

  1. Brian is creepy. I love your socks, Yoko, congratulations!! I hope to learn some from your sock trials and tribulations when I finally get to casting on my own!!

  2. Those socks are the sexiest striped socks I have ever seen in my life time of 31 years. As you may know I totally have a foot thing so I have seen many a sock close up. None compare, Yoko. None.

  3. Yoko,you are the only one who braved the sockalong, and I am deeply proud of ya, and also charmed by your finished results. i promise not to flake out with any tankalonging that we do!

  4. Ah, yes, I’m all too familiar with that “favoring one side in falling” business. There was a long period where I’d overcome it in my basic Kokikai-style ukemi, and I thought, “I’m sure glad THAT’S over with.” And then I started learning new approaches to ukemi from other aikido styles, and discovered that for many of the new ukemi techniques I learned, I had to overcome the “favoring one side” thing all over again.

    Over the past few years I’ve developed an approach to ukemi that’s eliminated ukemi-related ankle injuries in my dojo. The basic rule is this: never step backwards into a fall. Every time you need to change hanmi to get a particular foot behind you for a fall (even if it’s a “favoring one side” hanmi change instead of a necessary one), accomplish the hanmi change by stepping FORWARD with the OTHER foot. That changes the way that your weight is shifting as you go into the fall, in such a way that even if you get completely tangled, you’re not likely to end up suddenly dropping all your weight onto one ankle.

  5. Ah, yes, I’m all too familiar with that “favoring one side in falling” business. There was a long period where I’d overcome it in my basic Kokikai-style ukemi, and I thought, “I’m sure glad THAT’S over with.” And then I started learning new approaches to ukemi from other aikido styles, and discovered that for many of the new ukemi techniques I learned, I had to overcome the “favoring one side” thing all over again.

    Over the past few years I’ve developed an approach to ukemi that’s eliminated ukemi-related ankle injuries in my dojo. The basic rule is this: never step backwards into a fall. Every time you need to change hanmi to get a particular foot behind you for a fall (even if it’s a “favoring one side” hanmi change instead of a necessary one), accomplish the hanmi change by stepping FORWARD with the OTHER foot. That changes the way that your weight is shifting as you go into the fall, in such a way that even if you get completely tangled, you’re not likely to end up suddenly dropping all your weight onto one ankle.

  6. Hmm… I didn’t mean for that last comment to show up twice. I didn’t mean for that last comment to show up twice. Oh, wel – I had to repeat myself a lot more times than that when I was trying to teach the new ukemi approach to my students!

  7. Bevin: thanks! I look forward to seeing what magic you can do with socks!
    Sooner: thank you too! I hope foot fetishists all over the globe get to admire my fancy footwork.
    Pethness Pro: Let’s start tanking soon!
    Nicky: heh– I need as much repetition as I can get to remember to do things! I’ll work on your ukemi approach. This injury resulted in a forward ukemi, though– I seem to do little spastic steps to get to the favored side. I do this as a nage, too, so I have much to work on to plant and throw/fall on my non-favored side.

  8. I think your socks rock.

  9. hope your on your feet again soon, in those sox.

  10. Oh no! Best wishes for speedy ankle recovery. Meanwhile, you can have fun thinking of ways to turn your crutches into deadly weapons!


Categories

