Posted by: yoko | May 9, 2005

Words From Childhood 3.5

Today’s word: oshaberi

Oshaberi means talkative, chatty. It can be used to refer to a person who is constantly talking as well.

When I was a kid, I alternated between being very talkative and very quiet, very goofy and very serious. (hm– not so much different from now, really.) When I got to talking non-stop about something, my mom would often call me oshaberi.

At the dinner table on Mother’s Day yesterday, I had the good fortune to sit next to my dear niece. She entertained me with stories about her recent school field trip, discussions about various Pixar movies, and thoughts about the science of cooking. My mom remarked that my niece has become an oshaberi as well. I gotta admit, I love that kid.

Responses

  1. Adorable!

    Congrats on yesterday’s victory! The contrast between this blog entry and a certain other person’s blog entry this morning really says it all, doesn’t it?

  2. Oooo! [in the style of a seventies sitcom soundtrack]

  3. Sweet! I love these bits of Japanese that you show us….


Categories

