Posted by: yoko | June 17, 2005

Training the Mind and Body

“I must not fear. Fear is the mindkiller. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

~Frank Herbert, Dune

Both my ankles have become weakened over the past couple months, and the fear of the pain in spraining them again stunts my ability to perform as uke in practices.

Still, I went to class yesterday, and had a fine time throwing and explaining techniques to junior members. I intend to get yet another brace so that both ankles can be stabilized, and then I will practice returning to graceful, large ukemi as well as practicing the necessary techniques as nage for my test.

Big plans for the weekend: a celebratory party for an old friend of mine who has accepted a professorship at an Ivy school (wow!), and meeting up with my dad and the family for Father’s Day. My mom almost asked me to buy my dad a tie, but I decided on buying a book instead.

Enjoy your weekend.

Responses

  1. That quote from Dune is one of my all-time favorites!! I said it to myself when I was in labor…

  2. It was all books all the time for my step-father. My mom and I went all out with various architecture books. Then we sat around the table and perused them all.

  3. I love that quote about fear from dune. I recite it to myself more often than not. Thanks for posting it. I’m going to snag it and put it over on my site. :) Get better. Think positive. That which the world breaks, often the new bond is stronger than the original.


Categories

