Posted by: balladofyoko | May 9, 2006

Words From Childhood 4.5

Today’s word: taido

Taido means “attitude.” It always sounded like “tide” to me, so whenever my parents said taido ga warui, I thought they said “bad tide,” when in fact, what they had said was that I had a bad attitude.

I was told I had a bad attitude mostly when I was told to do something I didn’t want to do, and sulked about it. I could be really grouchy at times, although right now, I can’t remember why.

I spent so much energy being so sulky as a kid and as a teenager. I think I gave it up when I got older because it took so much out of me. It’s easier having a good attitude.

Responses

  1. When I’m told to do something I don’t want to do, by people that have the power to make me do it, I sometimes still get grumpy ;)

    I do agree about the good attitude being better all around. As is often said, Shit Happens and what we have control over is our attitude and response :)


Categories

