Posted by: balladofyoko | July 16, 2006

Summer Sweat

Please be careful with [the] head. [The] head is very important.

~Maruyama-sensei, after demonstrating a variation on tsuki kaitennage

I had a great time practicing at the aikido summer camp. It was great to see folks from my dojo test– lots of really fine freestyles and techniques. For the first time, I volunteered to uke (act as attacker) for a couple of tests at camp, and I was specially asked to uke for another (but didn’t get a chance to). I got sent back once, apparently because I seemed too small to attack.

I had gotten plenty of attention from Maruyama-sensei this time around, however. I was called up to demonstrate a couple of times, and he personally critiqued some of the things I was doing during partner-practice. I can’t quite tell, from year to year, whether he remembers who I am, or whether I’m just another pretty face to him. But every year, for myself anyway, I learn more and more– and I enjoy aikido more and more. That’s something.

Because I commuted from home this time instead of staying over, I didn’t get to socialize as much as I would have liked. But that’s okay– plenty of opportunities to do that next time.

It always feels good for my body and mind to be in harmony. And sweating– well, it wouldn’t be summer here without it.

Responses

  1. My taiji teacher often repeats “Be careful. Not go crazy. Very important.”


Categories

