Posted by: balladofyoko | October 1, 2006

Performances

We now have a date for our recital. If you’re interested in the details, let me know, and I’ll send ’em to you. I’m excited– it’ll be the first time I’ll be performing in the city. We have to pick a program, and practice more, of course, but we’ll definitely have fun with it, and hopefully our audience will enjoy the music as well.

T minus 2 weeks until the wedding. The ceremony itself is a performance, in a way. We have a script, we get dressed up, we’ll have a (short) rehearsal, and then we’re on stage, so to speak. And the afterparty will be fantastic.

But when the performance is over and the instruments put back in their cases, what happens to the music? When the ceremony is over, the makeup washed away and the dress put in a storage box, what happens to the marriage?

The limelight is fun for me. The work thereafter is the test of faith. I’ve questioned my devotion to music many times, left it, came back, defined and redefined what it means to me. But it’s always been a part of me, and I think it always will.

Our days after the wedding will be, I hope, a strengthening of our faith in each other. We have our ups and downs, of course, but I think of Lipby as a loving partner who stands side by side with me. I hope beyond hope that he will always be a part of me.

Categories

