Posted by: balladofyoko | November 15, 2006

Words From Childhood 4.10

Today’s words : chokochoko and burabura

I seem to have forgotten to post a childhood word last month, so I’m writing about two this time.

Many of the words my mom used that involved movement were often accompanied by her acting it out in a comical way. Chokochoko, an onomatopoeic word that describes toddling about, would have my mom taking tiny baby steps, a little to the left, a little to the right. Burabura on the other hand, means shuffling about lazily, and involved swinging her arms back and forth, twisting her hips.

My mom actually has a whole repertoire of these, but I can’t quite remember all of the corresponding actions to the words. Needless to say, she’s very animated when she speaks.

Responses

  1. You should make films of your mom saying theses things and acting them out.

  2. Yeah, I thought about filming her, but I’m not sure how I’d do it. I don’t think I can just say “act out such-and-such,” and she’d do it. I think her movements just come up naturally and somewhat unconsciously in conversation. But I’ll think on it some more.


Categories

