Posted by: balladofyoko | March 28, 2007

More About the Hakama


There are seven pleats in the hakama– five in front and two in the back. The seven pleats allegedly stand for the seven tenets of martial arts: benevolence, honor, civility, wisdom, sincerity, loyalty, and piety. (See the page in the Aikido FAQ.)

My first attempt in folding the hakama by myself looked a little sloppy. I’ll try again next time.



  1. I love me a pair of huge, cool pants. I do get to wear a flattering Mandarin-collar jacket with cloth buttons that will actually stay fastened during the rough and tumble. But still, I sometimes have huge pants envy.

  2. Very cool. Congratulations again!

  3. Omedetou Yoko! Boy those instructions look complex – like tea ceremony only much more so! Gambate!

  4. It’s like origami for clothing.


%d bloggers like this: