Posted by: balladofyoko | May 13, 2007

Nice Time

Saturday:

Aikido in the morning. I need to come to advanced class more often from now on. I think I’m developing a big head from teaching, and that needs to stop. In the grand scheme of things, I have so, so much to learn yet.

Spring Thing in the afternoon! I love a good flea market/tag sale/white elephant/whatever y’all call it. I bought flowers and a picture frame, signed a petition concerning recycling in our neighborhood, tried some gazpacho, enjoyed Shasta’s wares, and did my best to protect myself from the surprisingly glaring sunlight. And then I went to another flea market! When I’m in the right mood, perusing through old stuff tickles me so.

Budofly’s wedding reception in the evening. Lipby and I spent a part of the evening standing out on the fire escape and talking. It was like a nice date, actually– we both get so caught up in our workaday lives that it seems rare that we get a chance to really talk– and it was really pleasant to spend some quality time with him. It was good to talk more with Budofly– and too bad we can’t practice aikido together! But perhaps we’ll be able to hang out sometime soon and enjoy each other’s company.

Sunday:

Finally cleaned the house to a reasonable level. (i.e., no dust mammoths.) Busted our bed. oops. If you know anyone who’s selling a queen bed with a split box spring at a reasonable price somewheres around, please let me know. Met up with my family for Mother’s Day, and got a sushi boat for dinner. mmm… sushi boat. Gave my mom a red-flowered geranium, which she liked. Nice times all around.

Responses

  1. What do you mean, “busted” your bed? Details please.

  2. I knew someone was going to ask that….

    We have a low-ceilinged staircase to the second floor. When we moved in, our box spring couldn’t fit up the steps, so the movers cut the box spring in half (they asked us first) so that it could be moved to the bedroom. Unfortunately and predictably, that gradually weakened the box spring to the point where it’s entirely caved in the middle, and the frame finally collapsed this weekend from the unevenness. Last night, I kept feeling as if I was sliding down an incline. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep well last night.

  3. That’s horrible! Can you prop up the lower part of the bed somehow?


Categories

