Posted by: balladofyoko | June 27, 2008

Artist’s Way, Week 8

Some of my morning pages sessions turned out to be not written in the morning this week, but I did manage to write every day. This week’s assignments were back to writing about wishes and how to make ideal situations closer to reality by planning out courses of action in a week, a month, a year, five years. The trick is to break things into manageable pieces and just do them.

I figured out this trick a long time ago. I am a great procrastinator, and I can easily work myself into paralysis when faced with a big project. I learned that if I say to myself, “I’m just going to write one page today and that’s it,” or “I’m going to learn three lines of this piece and that’s it,” that eventually I manage to do the whole thing before I realize it.

So it is with my rehabilitation with playing clarinet right now. I made the pact to practice every day, but only 5 minutes a day, only scales, and I have to stop playing when my breathing problems arose. Then it became 6 minutes. Then 7, and I’ll throw in a short piece to keep me interested. Then 8 minutes. Now I’m up to 9 minutes. One thing from an Alexander Technique session helped me tremendously– giving myself space between my shoulder blades allows me to breathe fully without tension. wow. It works.

I’m going to my first rehearsal since my surgery. I’ve warned my friends that I won’t be able to play more than ten minutes, and they seemed fine with that. I hope it goes well.

Responses

  1. Awesome and inspirational!

  2. You’ve heard the phrase “perfection, procrastination, paralysis” haven’t you? I suffer from it.

  3. I agree with ashyknees! I’m inspired & am certain many of us are/will be… :) Oh Gambate!

  4. That is great news. I too suffer from “perfection, procrastination, paralysis.” You demonstrate that small steps really are the way to conquer it. Keep up the good work and keep us posted.

  5. […] Creative blocks, however, are something I know well. Sometimes, the best way to deal with it is incrementally; other times, it’s just about letting it […]


Categories

