Posted by: balladofyoko | August 3, 2008

Artist’s Way, Conclusion

It was definitely worth it to do the whole program. It was fun to do things I wouldn’t normally do– make a collage, collect stones, go on Artist’s Dates to places just for the heck of it. But most importantly, it was worth my time to write every day in the Morning Pages.

At the end of the book, the author asks you to make the commitment to another three months of Morning Pages and Artist’s Dates, and to check in with a trusted friend every week to keep on track with the creative process. I’ve made the commitment to continue– I want to see where further writing and self-nurturing will lead me.

Whether The Artist’s Way had a hand in this or not, I can tell you that I’m in a different place from where I started. I am slowly making progress with the clarinet. I had a great rehearsal on Friday, and I feel good about playing, although I’m trying not to push it and play more than I physically can. I feel better about practicing aikido as a student, although I worry about my skills as a teacher. Spending some time listening to music and reading nourishes me. And I’ve decided to study Japanese again. I suppose all these topics merit more detailed posts, but for now, let me just say that I’m starting to feel more myself again, and that is a great relief.

The other great lesson I’ve learned is that I have to take better care of myself, physically and mentally. Not a new lesson, but making that a rule is something I need to reinforce.

Thanks for reading about my journey.

Categories

