Posted by: balladofyoko | November 4, 2008

Voting

2000 was my first presidential election year in which I was eligible to vote. The right to vote was not automatically granted to me when I turned 21, even though I was living in the United States then. I became a naturalized citizen just two years before Y2K. I passed the citizenship test, and earned the privilege to vote.

I have voted every year since I became an American citizen, not just for presidential elections. I don’t take my right for granted. I don’t know whether my vote counts for much (I know you will say that it does, but I remain skeptical), but I am glad to be allowed to exercise my privilege.

Responses

  1. Congrats! Sad to see you off twitter, though, but there is always “schmutz in the chalice of joy” as we say. :\

  2. I’m so glad to read words like that. “I don’t take my right for granted”.

    It is sad that a lot of people, who have a choice, decide to give it up. I wonder if the guilt trip associated with not voting (which has worked a bit in Mexico) could be imported.

    Sad not seeing you in twitter either…what happened? :-(


Categories

