Posted by: balladofyoko | November 26, 2008

Grateful

Something I take for granted, but shouldn’t:

The students are friendly towards each other. They treat each other with respect. They treat me with respect as well. I may make silly jokes, I may teach a technique incorrectly (and be politely corrected), but we’re all learning in a safe, non-competitive, relaxed environment, and for that, I am very, very grateful.

The dojo is filled with people who want to learn, who want to improve themselves, and help others. If only the rest of the world were filled with people like this. One person at a time, one person at a time.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Responses

  1. All very good things indeed.

  2. At first, I thought you were typing about teaching the clarinet … and I applied the same gratefulness towards my violin students… then I applied your gratefulness to other place where I go with similar attitudes and acceptances… Suzuki, AA, LDS, Obama meetings etc., and I know the feelings and respect that you describe. I leave so happy, cheerful, joyous and free and easy… then as I travel home or to the next place, I see someone walking down the street and I use the same attitude and smile my Big ole God -given smile (some of you know) and *boom* I get a funny feeling… “oh yeah” I remember ….not the whole world… yet. One person at a time. I concur. Grateful indeed.


Categories

